Shaking My Head

Standard

I guess I had been gone too long for people to read my last post. That’s ok, I don’t mind. Even if no one reads these at least I can get out what I’m thinking and feeling in some way.

Vice presidential debates aren’t usually something that gets a lot of attention. Normally they don’t even affect polls or anything like that substantially. Yet this one caused a stir it seems and has had about as mixed feedback as you can get.

In my humble opinion Biden won. I don’t say this because of interruptions, or anything like that. I say it because I listened to what the candidates were saying. Everything that Ryan had out there Biden was able to correct and get on with the debate. However, though this is in some ways a victory for the Democrats, it’s not without its own losses.

First off, you have the entire right wing screaming at Biden’s behavior. They are unnerved by him laughing at subjects or his hand gestures. They are angry about how he kept interrupting Ryan. I’d like to point out to them that Romney did the same exact thing to Obama last week, but was seen as being a hero for it. Also, I’d like to point out that Biden wasn’t laughing about the issues- he was actually laughing at Ryan. I’m not surprised in the least and I don’t condone unprofessional behavior like that. I think he could have been a little more reserved and had a better impact on the audience for being so. We just need to keep in mind, this is Biden after all and he’s known to be like that.

Fact check: I’m concerned that the fact checking on both sides were equally riddled with lies from both candidates. I mean this sincerely. Even though I’m against the whole Republican platform I’m able to see the fact that both of them last night twisted numbers and statistics at the very least with both of them outright lying about certain issues. To me that really causes the whole thing to be more of a game than anything serious. If it was serious then real facts that would be accurate would be brought to the table. I’m big on the truth and neither of these guys really stood up for the truth in a way that I would have appreciated.

Responses: For some reason the responses I’ve seen from the public are less apathetic towards these two than they were towards the Presidential debate last week. I have no idea why other than it was infinitely more entertaining in a way to watch these guys go at it. The problem here is that this isn’t entertainment, this is supposed to be a tool to use in order to better choose the right candidates for the job at hand. We’ll see how this whole thing gets reflected in the polls probably more early next week.

Overall, I’m still sadened by the lack of clear direction for the Left, the information twisting of both sides and the mud-slinging of all involved before and after such a debate. The only thing I can really say that’s positive was that even the moderator tried to get actual details from Ryan about his plan for the country and was unable to. Though that was a big thing, it’s going to be hidden most likely in the media’s reporting of the debate by Biden’s attitude.

Leave a Reply

